Cities, Towns and Villages
The Finger Lakes Region welcomes you to
explore its wineries, gorges and outstanding recreational
opportunities. Travel on a 135-mile driving tour and discover how a
Native American trail became the "Gateway to the Finger Lakes" or
enjoy a find blend of wines and culinary delights on the Canandaigua
Winery Trail. From museums to world-class entertainment, the Finger
Lakes Region has everything that you are looking for.
Auburn, Cayuga’s county seat and largest
community, boasts first-rate historical attractions, including the
Harriet Tubman Home and William Seward House, park access to Owasco
Lake, Merry-Go-Round Playhouse professional theater and baseball.
Also found here is New York State’s only Bass Pro Shops, along with
a wide variety of other attractions, fine dining and accommodation
Settled in 1799, the tranquil village of
Aurora is situated on the east side of Cayuga Lake. To the north, it
is home to the renowned home accessories company, MacKenzie-Childs,
Ltd. To the south is Wells College, established in 1868 by Henry
Wells. The Aurora Inn, Dories, Jane Morgan’s Little House, E.B.
Morgan House, and The Fargo are wonderful places to shop, dine and
spend the night.
Hospitality and history abound in
Bloomfield, which is reminiscent of New England with beautiful old
churches, monuments, century old shade trees, an inviting gazebo and
village green. Large Victorian homes add to the beautiful scenery
and rich architecture. However, there is more than meets the eye in
Bloomfield used to be two towns - East
Bloomfield and Holcomb - that merged to enhance common assets.
Farmers markets, antique shops (known together as the Antique
Country Mile), and a nearby golf course boost the appeal of this
picturesque village. Allens Hill Farm is home of Apple Cider
Molasses. There are a variety of restaurants, New York State wine
tastings and superb hospitality. In its tradition as a stagecoach
town, Bloomfield’s visitors can enjoy a relaxing overnight stay at
two bed and breakfasts, which host guests year round. The 1808
Holloway House, a former stagecoach tavern, is known for its fine
foods, homemade breads and desserts.
The AWA Antique Wireless and
Radio Museum is a treasure trove of early wireless communication
devices - including one of the first Marconi radios. It’s located
across the village green in a restored 1830s brick schoolhouse which
it shares with The Bloomfield Academy Museum, which features an
outstanding collection of early American and local historical items.
The Vintage Tracks Museum features "Crawlers of Yesteryear", paying
tribute to this area’s fertile farm heritage
The rolling hillsides between Honeoye and
Canandaigua Lake create a cocoon of sorts; a hideaway for those who
make their home in Bristol. The community is close-knit and proud of
its rural setting, with most of the population centered on the
northern part of the town in the hamlet of Bristol Center. Others
use the natural setting of the Bristol Hills as the forum for their
The Wizard of Clay attracts national and
international visitors. Retired art teacher Jim Kozlowski works with
his son, Jamie, to create thousands of pieces of pottery each year.
The Bristol Hills are also home to artists, glassblowers,
woodworkers, and even organ builders. The town is spotted with shops
and restaurants in which to relax and catch-up with old friends, but
certainly one of the busiest places is Bristol Center. Here your
will find the Bristol Hills Country Store, locally known as a place
to gossip, grab a quick bite to eat and warm up by the wood stove.
The store doubles as an ice cream parlor, video store, and
convenience shop. Across the street, the 1795 Acorn Inn Bed and
Breakfast is meticulously decorated with antiques. The proprietors
are attentive to detail and excellent service, earning them a
perennial AAA four diamond award. Bristol Mountain Winter Resort
also is a treasure.
Although the community may be spread out, it
is close in nature. Bristol is a throwback to simpler times,
offering a quiet country life in a beautiful outdoor setting.
Resting on the northern shore of the third
largest Finger Lake is the city of Canandaigua, which is surrounded
by a town of the same name. With the lake as a backdrop, the city
and town are areas of extensive natural beauty, numerous
recreational opportunities, great natural resources, and historical
significance. Canandaigua provides its residents and guests with
opportunities for fishing, boating, hiking, skiing, hunting and
swimming. There are great places to relax and enjoy the views; a
wide main street provides a premiere entryway -- replete with
Victorian architecture, flowered medians, and quaint shops.
Canandaigua was named by the
Native American Indians, meaning "the chosen spot". Today, it
remains one of the Finger Lakes Region’s most chosen spots for
recreation and quality of life, with nearly 20,000 people calling it
home. Tourism and agriculture share the forefront of industry in
Canandaigua, but it also is home to one of the state’s newest
attractions, the New York Wine and Culinary Center.
History and architecture are
main stays of this community. Sonnenberg Gardens and Mansion State
Historic Park is an area favorite along with the Granger Homestead
and Carriage Museum. The Ontario County Historical Society is a good
place to begin any visit. The museum provides a background of the
area’s history, offers walking tours and provides an architectural
guide of Canandaigua’s impressive Main Street. Music is important in
this city. The Marvin Sands Constellation Brands Performing Art
Center (C-MAC), a 15,000-seat outdoor amphitheater, brings
unforgettable performances by today’s most popular entertainers.
Canadice is named for its tiny, pristine
lake. It is the only town in the Finger Lakes Region that touches
three bodies of water - Canadice, Hemlock and Honeoye Lakes. Despite
the Native American translation for Canadice as "long lake," it is
actually the smallest of the eleven Finger Lakes. Perhaps this
moniker is more for the views than the length of the lake, which is
only three miles long.
The lakeside hills are steep, affording
tremendous views of the Rochester skyline to the north and sweeping
valleys to the south. Harriet Hollister Spencer State Park is a
vantage point from which many scenic photos are taken. The park is
undeveloped, which is part of its appeal for picnicking and hiking.
Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and dogsledding are common winter
activities. Some recreational activities, such as swimming and
waterskiing, are restricted on the lake in order to preserve its
quality. Canoeing, biking and kayaking are encouraged!
The village of Cayuga, incorporated in 1857,
is located on the northeast end of Cayuga Lake. It derives its name
from the 40 mile long lake, which is the longest of the six major
Finger Lakes. The northern end of the lake extends into the
Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge, 7,000 acres of wetland that
provide habitat for over 300 species of birds and wildlife.
Clifton Springs is about the water - Sulphur
water, that is. Dr. Henry Foster came to Clifton Springs in 1850 and
founded Clifton Springs Water Treatment. Surrounding his water cure,
he built a tremendous Victorian village. The architecture is among
the prizes of visiting Clifton Springs. The town has a covered
downtown main street including the Foster Block, filled with little
stores and service areas that delight both visitors and residents.
The village of slightly more than 2220 people won the "Uncommonly
Good Award for Common Good Planning" in the Rochester area. The
community is still well known for its hospital and The Springs at
Clifton, reinvigorating the Dr. Foster’s springs for use in
complementary medicines. The springs include sulphur baths,
massages, herbal medicines, and expanded wellness initiatives.
Clifton Springs is also host to Warfield’s
Restaurant. Victorian in nature, this popular restaurant grows some
of its own herbs and provides fresh baked goods. There are two
unique Bed & Breakfasts for lodging, 1891 Inn At The Springs and The
Clifton Pearl, antique shops, gift shops, and delis on the main
street. The village hosts the Sulphur Springs Festival each summer.
The Village of Clyde resides in the town of
Galen. The Erie Canal played an important role in the village’s
development. Much of the land is used for farming. Don’t miss the
annual community celebration held every August; the fireworks are
Corning, New York is a small city with a
cosmopolitan flair and a captivating history. Nestled in a river
valley with steep hills, Corning is also a southern gateway into the
beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Corning is world
renowned for its glassmaking past and present. Discover the art,
history, and science of glass at the state of the art Corning Museum
The Information Center of Corning is located
in the heart of the historic downtown on Market Street and offers
extensive information on visiting, living, learning and playing in
the Corning area. Historic Market Street is at the center of
Corning’s downtown Gaffer District. It flourishes with glass making
studios, antiques, restaurants, and specialty shops. Corning has a
large population of fine arts, from local glass artists to famous
works featured in the Rockwell Museum of Western Art, as well as
notable entertainment performed by local theater, ballet, and music
groups. Please come and share the experience of Corning with us!
The Corning Museum of Glass is nestled in
the heart of the picturesque Finger Lakes region of upstate New
York. The area is full of wonderful activities for visitors of all
ages, including a variety of festivals and parks, world-renowned
wineries, and a wealth of cultural events.
The town of Dansville is nestled deep in the
heart of Genesee Valley, surrounded by fertile farmland, rolling
wooded hillsides, lakes and streams. It has a rich history and is
the home of the first chapter of the American Red Cross, established
by Clara Barton in 1881.
Clara Barton herself stated, "It must never
be forgotten that Dansville is the first home of the American Red
Cross." As you explore Dansville, you’ll see that the town is proud
of its humanitarian history. The American Red Cross, Clara Barton
House Chapter #1 stands just as it did in 1881 and now serves as
both museum and working base of the 1st chapter of the Red Cross.
The Dansville Public Library also holds its own host of town
history. Once you’re done exploring the past, Dansville’s
flourishing Main Street invites visitors to shop in many lovely and
unique shops and enjoy a charming dining experience.
The town has its own natural beauty,
providing many ways to "get out and enjoy nature." The Finger Lakes
Trail and the Genesee Valley Greenway Trail present tailored paths
that are excellent for an afternoon walk outdoors. Stony Brook State
Park offers outdoor recreation opportunities as well, including
swimming in natural rock pools and plenty of camping options.
Don’t miss a chance to drop in at the close
of summer, when Dansville hosts the New York State Festival of
Balloons every Labor Day Weekend. Join us for food, games, and
continuous entertainment amidst a seemingly endless sea of hot air
balloons! Dansville’s small lodging options and proximity to
Interstate 390 make the town an ideal location to visit.
Rural communities have always been the
center of life in the Town of Dryden. Many community-based
activities are offered throughout the year. Dryden is home to many
charming local businesses, including two unique book stores, Phoenix
Used & Rare Books and A Book Barn of the Finger Lakes. Our village
can be found within the same magical countryside that has brought
fame to the other towns and attractions of Tompkins County.
Dryden’s rich natural beauty can be
uncovered in such gems as Hammond Hill State Forest, and the trail
to Dryden Lake. Speaking of the lake, Dryden’s Lakeview Golf Club
lives up to its name with a serene view of Dryden Lake to be
relished as you play a nine-hole course.
Fairport is located in the Town of Perinton
(population 45,000) on the historic Erie Canal. The very first use
of the Fairport name was recorded in 1829 by a traveler who deemed
us a “fair port” in which to stay. The village was incorporated in
For more than 6,000 of our residents and
over 300 business owners, Fairport Village provides a quality of
life and opportunity for commerce that’s unmatched by many
communities of our size.
Just what you might expect from the Crown Jewel
of the Erie Canal whose storied past is only matched by the
prospects of an even brighter future.
From its earliest days, the presence of the
waterway helped transform what had once been known as Perrinsville
into a very "fair port” for an overnight stay by passing travelers.
The railroad came to Fairport in 1853, making this growing community
one of the leading centers of transportation and industry of its
time in all of Upstate New York.
Today, the great packet boats and barges of
an earlier era have been replaced by recreational boaters, canoes,
kayaks and tour boats, while the old towpath serves the leisure-time
interests of bikers, joggers and walkers alike.
With its quiet, tree-lined streets, specialty
shopping and front porch friendliness, Fairport Village offers
contemporary living at its very best. Here, our residents have
access to one of the premiere public education systems in the
state—not to mention a village library, historical museum and lush
Village also features a compatible array of professional and
commercial offices, retail businesses and clean, light industry—all
within walking distance of some of the most desirable
Victorian-style family neighborhoods in
Boaters Paradise: Modern overnight docking
facilities in the heart of the Village’s rustic business district
accommodate more than 30 boats, featuring water and electric
services, well-maintained restrooms and showers, and a pump-out
stations. Helpful dockmasters are on duty during the boating season.
Canal Days Festival: Each June, Fairport’s Canal Days attracts more
than 400 arts and crafts exhibitors from the United States and tens
of thousands of visitors to one of the most anticipated festivals of
The Town of Geneseo is nestled in the
beautiful Genesee River Valley, surrounded by rolling hills and rich
farmland. Called "Jo-nis-hi-yuh" (Pleasant Valley) by the Seneca
Indians, the area offers a spectacular landscape.
The Village of Geneseo is a National
Historic Landmark Village. A quaint and easily-walked main street
offers pleasant shops and dining options, including the lovely Big
Tree Inn, an exquisitely restored inn dating back to 1833. Geneseo
is also home to the State University College at Geneseo, the 1941
Historical Aircraft Group Museum and Geneseo Air Show, Conesus Lake,
the westernmost lake in the Finger Lakes Region and the second
oldest continually operating hunt in the United States. At the Abbey
of the Genesee, Trappist Monks make several varieties of whole grain
breads in a serene landscape. Letchworth State Park, known as the
"Grand Canyon of the East", offers a wealth of outdoor recreation
Many historic and lovingly-maintained bed &
breakfasts, as well as a large hotel make Geneseo a great central
location for visiting Rochester, the Finger Lakes and the Greater
The northern shores of Seneca Lake give way
to one of the oldest and most renowned communities in Ontario
County, Geneva. With its unique location (partially on a hillside)
and sweeping views of the lake, the city is so reminiscent of its
European counterpart that it is believed to be its namesake. Like
many locations in the Finger Lakes, Geneva can trace its origins
back to the Seneca Indian Nation. It once served as a principal
settlement named "Kanadesaga", which was later entirely destroyed by
General John Sullivan in his famed expedition of 1779.
Architecture played a significant role in
shaping Geneva’s history. Geneva on the Lake Villa & Resort brings
European elegance to the heart of the Finger Lakes. Some of the more
prominent landmarks still on display include the Smith Opera House,
a theater built in 1894 by philanthropist William Smith; Belhurst
Castle, a three-story "home" built in 1889 for Carrie Harron
Collins, a descendant of presidential candidate Henry Clay, which
now operates as a bed & breakfast; the South Main Street district
boasting Pulteney Park (site of the original town square),
Federal-style South Main Street Rowhouses (built between 1825 and
1850) and the Hobart & William Smith College campus.
Geneva is still moving successfully forward.
The Cornell Agricultural & Food Technology Park opened in 2005,
bringing a high-tech facility dedicated to agriculture, food, and
biological-based enterprises to the area. Enjoy homegrown fruit and
handmade cider and juices from Red Jacket Orchards, operated by the
Nicholson’s, a four-generation family farm and business
Nathaniel Gorham of the Phelps and Gorham
Purchase is the name sake for this small Ontario County town. Flint
Creek, on which the village sits, afforded the Town of Gorham
several manufacturing facilities. Today, Gorham is known as the
Bandstand of the Finger Lakes, earning this name as the site of the
Annual Pageant of Bands. Gorham is also home to an antique shop and
a Bed and Breakfast. Gorham has considerable lake property at the
south end of Canandaigua Lake, including the Thendara Inn and its
popular Boathouse Restaurant. Its roads are great for biking and the
land is fertile for farming.
Rushville is located within two New York
State counties, Yates and Ontario. Rushville’s history is marked
with its famous son, Marcus Whitman, whose statue is in the Hall of
Leaders in the U.S. Capitol building. Marcus Whitman and his wife,
Narcissa Prentice, were pioneer missionaries who helped blazed the
trail to the Oregon territories, eventually losing their life in
their mission. Its small town charm and simple life are reflected in
the occasional horse and buggy going through this town, which is a
popular settling area for the Mennonites. The Loomis Barn and Corn
Cob Café is a popular stop, especially during Maple Sugar season.
You can watch maple syrup being made and eat homemade pancakes and
baked goods, which will delight your taste buds in this wonderful
Hammondsport is a picturesque lakeside
village on the southern tip of Keuka Lake. Grapevines planted in the
area in 1829 marked a symbolic start to the wine industry in the
Finger Lakes Region. Visit acclaimed wineries, including Bully Hill
Vineyards of Taylor Wine fame), Pleasant Valley Wine Company (the
first bonded winery in the Unites States), Dr. Konstantin Frank’s
Vinifera Wine Cellars (New York State’s most award-winning winery),
Chateau Renaissance Wine Cellars, Heron Hill Winery, Ravines Wine
Cellars and more.
The Glenn Curtiss Museum is an eclectic mix
of history that includes stories of power and speed on land, water
and in the air. Hammondsport native Glenn Curtiss was a pioneer
aviator. Known as the "Father of Naval Aviation", his location on
Keuka Lake had a major impact on his remarkable inventions.
Whether you want to taste great wine,
explore culture and heritage, participate in outdoor recreation,
enjoy breathtaking scenery or just focus on relaxation, you are sure
to enjoy Hammondsport. For a day trip or longer stay, it’s the
Hector, formed in 1802, is located on the
East side of Seneca Lake in Schuyler County. The topography is a
rolling upland with the highest summits being 500-700 feet above
Seneca Lake. Bluffs bordering the lake are 100-300 feet high and
nearly perpendicular. The area is drained by a large number of small
creeks flowing into Seneca and Cayuga Lakes. Hector boasts the only
national forest in New York State - the Finger Lakes National
Forest, as well as the Texas Hollow Wildlife Sanctuary, the 165’
Hector Falls and a number of wineries on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail.
The town of Richmond contains Honeoye and
beautiful Honeoye Lake. With a depth of only 30 feet, Honeoye Lake
is the shallowest of the Finger Lakes. This creates an advantage for
Honeoye, as it becomes a year-round recreational base. Its entire
five miles have been known to freeze, making ice fishing and ice
boating very popular seasonal activities.
Honeoye means "lying finger" in the Native
American language. A modern adaptation of "lying finger" may refer
to the numerous lakeside homes and cottages that lie alongside its
shores; with more and more being converted into year-round housing.
Honeoye Lake offers two public access areas. One is Sandy Bottom
Park, a 50-acre park at the north end of the lake, which offers
swimming, picnicking, and a nature trail. A primitive boat launch
and undeveloped hiking trails are also available at the Honeoye Lake
State Marine Park.
An extensive amount of land in Richmond is
being developed into snowmobile trails, hiking trails, and natural
conservation areas. The northern part of Richmond is rich in
agriculture and is a popular area for viewing fall foliage. For
visitors to the area, there are several nearby attractions,
including Cumming Nature Center, Bristol Mountain Winter Resort, and
Wizard of Clay Pottery. Honeoye Inn offers dining on the lake. The
Greenwoods Bed and Breakfast provides relaxing accommodations and a
small meeting area.
From a variety of large-scale commercial
offerings and local cooperatives to its rolling farmland, Hopewell
is a study in contrasts. Hopewell is at the geographical center of
Ontario County and is the location of many county service buildings.
The Ontario County Records and Archives Center is a hubbub of
activity for those searching their ancestry records, deeds, or other
legal information dating to the Ontario County’s founding in 1789.
Hopewell is home to the Constellation
Brands—Marvin Sands Performing Arts Center (C-MAC) located on the
campus of the Finger Lakes Community College. C-MAC, an outdoor
amphitheater seating 15,000, acts as the summer home to the
Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra and hosts many of today’s most
The Ontario County Fair (held annually in July) and the Canandaigua
Speedway, which holds dirt track racing events almost every Saturday
from June through August, are also located here. Routes 5 and 20
bisect the town, creating a popular roadway lined by productive
farmland. Roadside stands feature beans, cabbage, pumpkins, corn,
and more. The Pageant of Steam is held each year, showing off an
impressive display of antique, steam-driven farm machinery.
Innovations for the new millennium can be
found at Willow Pond Aqua Farms, an entrepreneurial venture in
aqua-cultural farming. Many varieties of fish and aqua-based plant
life are propagated here. Educational programs, offered on topics
ranging from fishing to gardening, make this a popular spot for
local gardening clubs and enthusiasts. Whether you are interested in
big stores or small roadside stands, Hopewell is the place to go.
A gateway to the Finger Lakes and Upstate
New York. The Village offers a variety of shops, restaurants, hotels
and recreational activities for residents and visitors. Experience
soaring in a glider, a glass of wine at one our unique Finger Lakes
Wineries, visit one our many museums that span art, history, famous
people, and aviation, and other recreational activities, while
staying in one of the fine hotel/motels in our Village. Experience
“Family Days” in our parks in July; listen to an outdoor concert on
Thursday nights in the Teal Park Bandstand during July and August.
If you’re driving through to see the fall foliage, watch for
“Harvest Festival” and “Chili and Chocolate Cook Off” in October and
enjoy a street festival in historic Hanover Square. Don’t miss
“Holly Days” after Thanksgiving, an old-fashioned seasonal event,
that reminds us all of what this time of the year is for and about.
Bordering the eastern edge of Sodus Bay, the
Town of Huron contains the spectacular Chimney Bluffs, a land
formation created by a receding glacier. The landscape is dotted
with orchards and is in full bloom in the spring. It is one of the
most photographed areas in Wayne County.
What makes Ithaca unique? Is it the towering
waterfalls, the lush ice-age gorges, the endless panoramic views at
Buttermilk Falls? Is it the hiking, biking, and boating? Is it the
beauty of Cayuga Lake, the largest of the Finger Lakes? Perhaps it’s
Maybe it’s the buzz from Cornell University
and Ithaca College. Every football season brings the roar of the
Ithaca Bombers as they take on their rivals, the Red Dragons of SUNY
Cortland, at the Cortaca Jug, "the greatest little game in the
You feel it everywhere - in our museums, our
galleries, and our many restaurants. You hear it in our theaters,
our nightclubs, and our festivals. You see it downtown on our
pedestrian mall, the Downtown Ithaca Commons, where PhDs cross paths
with street musicians, and families stroll the solar system on the
interactive "Sagan Planet Walk."
You can’t put your finger on it, but there’s
something special going on here. The bumper stickers say "Ithaca is
Gorges," but it’s more than that. Ithaca is beautiful and smart and
always unexpected. It’s intense but laid-back and disdainful of
convention. Ithaca is Ithaca. There’s a vibe here unlike anywhere
else in America, and experiencing it is the only way to discover it.
Just south of Aurora, King Ferry and Genoa
form the agricultural heart of Cayuga County. Attractions include
the Rural Life Museum and award-winning King Ferry Winery.
Lansing is a sprawling town on the eastern
shore of Cayuga Lake. The village’s rolling hills and earthy farms
are balanced by main street restaurants and shopping centers.
Lansing provides something to be found to
satisfy for every taste. Our bustling village is home to four parks,
a marina and an Alpaca Farm as well as the Ithaca/Tompkins Regional
Airport, several B&Bs, restaurants, and the county’s largest mall,
the Pyramid Mall. This combination of recreational and activity
facilities with modern provisions and accommodations is what makes
Lansing so wholesome and attractive to visitors.
Along the lake shore, this pastoral town
operates the Lansing Town Park at Myers Point, offering boat
docking, camping, pavilions, swimming, and a summer concert series.
If you travel along Salmon Creek, you’ll run into Ludlowville Falls.
The main falls feature a huge overhang and a deep plunge pool, the
latter serving as an attraction to both fishermen and swimmers. The
falls also offer a geological display of Tully Limestone, undercut
through the courtesy of the stream’s power of erosion. Don’t miss
the secondary waterfall with a spectacular jet shooting 30 feet out
of the wall!
Pastoral and modern, progressive yet down to
earth, the Town of Lansing is able to maintain healthy stability
while also retaining the famed naturalistic beauty of Tompkins
County. You’ll definitely want to take some time to enjoy this
lovely village on your next vacation to the Finger Lakes.
Locke, formed in 1802, is a peaceful
agrarian community with beautiful farmland, historical cemeteries
and Grisamore Farms, a busy family-run fruit and vegetable market
featuring u-pick, picnic area, petting zoo and tours.
Lyons is Wayne County’s seat. The town is
home to a domed county court house built in 1854, an impressive
building overlooking the quaint village park. The Erie Canal helped
make this village prosperous and continues to be a favorite spot for
boaters. The annual "Peppermint Days" celebration focuses on the
heritage of the peppermint industry that Lyons was noted for. The
Museum of Wayne County History is a block away form the village
square, where an old fashioned farmer’s market is held every
Saturday morning from mid-June through October.
Macedon is an expanding residential and
commercial area. However, there is still plenty of open space.
Historic highlights include the Macedon Academy building on Route
31F and locks of the old Erie Canal. A Lumberjack Festival is a big
draw every September. Long Acre Farms is home to the "Amazing Maize"
maze, which has become a major attraction.
The first settlers arrived around 1789. The
town was formed in 1796 while still part of Ontario County, New
York. The town was known as "Augusta" until 1808, when the name was
changed to "Middlesex" to avoid confusion with another location
named Augusta. When Yates County was formed in 1823, Middlesex
became part of the new county. The Town of Potter was formed from
part of Middlesex in 1832, and more of Middlesex was added to Potter
The Town of Montezuma is located at the
great bend in the Seneca River in Cayuga County, New York.
It is believed that Montezuma was named for the
Aztec chieftain. The area was first settled by Dr. Peter Clarke,
Comfort Tyler and Abram Morgan. They were attracted to the area for
the abundant salt springs first discovered by the Indians. Later,
they became the early promoters for canal development amd building
roads and bridges.
Montezuma became the western terminal when
the Erie Canal opened in 1820. Work on the "middle section" of the
canal between Utica and Montezuma started after ground breaking at
Rome in 1817. The Cayuga/Seneca Canal was also built and junctions
here with the Erie Canal. It opened up 80 miles of lakes to
navigation on our two largest Finger Lakes. Montezuma was a bustling
village becoming the head of navigation while the building of the
Erie Canal proceeded westward. The first passage boat was built and
launched here. Seventy-six feet long and 14 feet wide, The
Montezuma, contained an elegant dining room, kitchen and two cabins.
When the original Erie Canal was
constructed, no one anticipated the heavy boat traffic it would
accommodate. Clinton's Ditch - a mere 40' wide and 4' deep soon
proved to be insufficient in size, and no sooner had it opened when
plans began to enlarge it. Because crossing the Seneca River at
Montezuma was so difficult, the State decided to relocate the canal
to higher ground and to build an aqueduct to carry boats across the
The Richmond Aqueduct, the second largest on
the Erie Canal replaced the hazards of crossing through the river by
lifting the canal up over the river, speeding up transit time. The
canal commissioner reported to the State Legislature when it was
built in 1856 that this was "one of the largest and most important
structures on the Erie Canal." 110,000 linear feet of wood pilings
were driven into the soft ground to support the Seneca with 31
stones arches, 11 feet high and 22 feet wide. It was the second
largest built on the Enlarged Erie and cost $125,000 to build.
In the meantime, other visionaries were
building railroads, replacing one technology for another. As new
modes of transportation were developed, more and more commerce was
taken away from the original canal system. Between 1905 and 1918 the
Seneca River was dredged to a uniform 12 foot depth creating present
day Barge Canal system.
The aqueduct needed to be removed over the
Seneca River when the old canal system was abandoned. Today, all
that remains of the 31 arches are seven on the east side of the
Seneca River and three on the west side. A Four Canals Historic Park
has been proposed by the Cayuga County Planning Department and the
Town of Montezuma for state development. It would encompass
approximately 140 acres of parkland highlighting these historic
resources which are adjacent to the Montezuma Wildlife Refuge and
upstream from the Montezuma State Wildlife Management area.
We've come a long way from the days when
mules and horses pulled boats through the Finger Lakes region, but
there are ongoing efforts to assure us that our rich canal history
will be preserved and enjoyed for generations to come.
A walking guidebook is available to use
while touring canal sites through town starting at Memorial Park on
Dock Street. This was the site of a large state managed canal basin
where boaters traveling along the canal could stop and rest or wait
for service. Other sites on the tour include the Cayuga & Seneca
Canal junction, Lock 11, dry dock area, Lock 62, the Richmond
Aqueduct and paper mill remains.
Montour Falls has undergone several name
changes. It has been called Catharinestown in honor of Catharine
Montour, the last ruler of the Seneca Indian tribe which once lived
there. It was named Mills Landing after the area’s first
businessman, who owned an inn and warehouse on the shore of the
original bed of Catharine Creek. In 1836, it was incorporated as
Havana. However, due to the Spanish-American War, any name connected
with Cuba was considered harmful. The present name was adopted about
1900. Former businesses included Shepard Niles Crane & Hoists and
As a quaint village in Schuyler County, just
south of Watkins Glen, Montour Falls features the 160’ Chequagua
Falls as well as Aunt Sarah’s Falls and Deckertown Falls. The town
is home to the Catharine Valley Trail on the former railroad bed the
Chemung Canal towpath, and the NYS Fire Academy. Explore Schuyler
County’s past at the Historical Society Museum and Lee Schoolhouse,
both on the National Historic Register, on State Route 14 in the
Millard Fillmore, 13th President of the
United States, was born five miles east of the village of Moravia. A
replica of his log cabin birthplace is located in Fillmore Glen
State Park, a deep limestone and shale glen with five waterfalls,
stone-walled swimming pool, campground, pavilion, and picnic areas.
Nearby New Hope Mills has a water-powered grist mill and is famous
for pancake flour, available in its country store.
Naples is located at the south end of
Canandaigua Lake. Although it is among the smallest communities in
the state, this area, known as grape country, is one of the most
treasured destinations in the Finger Lakes Region. Once the site of
an ancient Seneca Indian Nation named "Nundawao," Naples is blessed
with a unique geographic location and fertile land. The Naples area
is an ideal spot to grow grapes - a tradition that was started in
the 1840s by a single land owner, who planted 150 grape vines on a
nearby hillside. Much of Naples’ esteemed past can be traced back to
that historic event, as it was the beginning of a big industry.
Today, Naples celebrates its grape heritage at the Widmer Wine
Cellars and Arbor Hill Grapery, the Naples Grape Festival - which
hosts nearly 100,000 people each year - and with grape pies. It’s
estimated that 70,000 grape pies are made in Naples each year.
There are several other landmarks on display
throughout the Naples area, including the Morgan Hook and Ladder
Company, listed on the National Register of Historic Places; and
Grimes Glen, site of a celebrated archeological find. Local
attractions include the Bristol Valley Theater and the Hi Tor
Wildlife Management Area. Small businesses are the lifeblood of
Naples, which has also become known as an artist haven.
Come to the Naples Grape Festival and see
some truly fine art on display by the talented craftsmen of the
Finger Lakes. All of our art displays are reviewed by a jury of
independent artists to insure the selections for sale on the
festival grounds of Memorial Town Hall and at the Naples High School
are hand made and high quality.
In front of Memorial Town Hall we have
staged King's Row which is a collection of our Best of Show winners
and artists whose work has been deemed the best of the best by a
jury of their peers. Throughout the show you will find arts and
crafts for every taste and budget. We pride ourselves on offering a
large variety of merchandise at both the Memorial Town Hall and at
the Naples High School. Please note you may see other vendors pop up
on neighboring lawns and driveways. It is important to note these
vendors have not been recognized or approved by the Naples Grape
Festival and likely are not selling the same quality of goods you
will find on the official festival grounds. Only the vendors on the
grounds of Memorial Town Hall and the Naples High School can display
the "official vendor" cards that let you know they have earned their
place at the event.
The town of Arcadia incorporates the Village
of Newark, which is considered to be the commercial hub of Wayne
County. The Erie Canal flows through the village. Newark features a
movie theater, fine restaurants, a motel, canal dockage at the T.
Spencer Knight Park and the Newark-Arcadia Museum.
In the Finger Lakes Region, you’ll find the
Town of Newfield resting amidst the hills rising from the Cayuga
Valley to 2097 feet above sea level at the Connecticut Hill Wildlife
Management Area. The town is proud of its abundance of untouched
wilderness at Connecticut Hill as it gives outdoor enthusiasts the
chance pursue a wide variety of outdoor recreational activities. Go
hiking, hunting, fishing, bird-watching, and picnicking with the
warmth of the summer sun on your brow; during the winter months, you
can try snowshoeing and cross country skiing. The wilderness of
Newfield allows you to appreciate the sights and sounds of nature
without the interference of noise pollution.
When you come to Newfield, get lost in the
woods at Arnot State Forest, a prime example of the Finger Lakes’
natural splendor. Arnot Forest is a paradise for any outdoorsman
intrepid enough to explore nature in its simplest and most
Newfield is also home to the Newfield
Covered Bridge, the oldest covered bridge still used on a daily
basis since it was originally built in 1853. The bridge was listed
on the National Register of Historic Places in May of 2000. Visitors
are encouraged to photograph the portals and the 115 foot truss
arch, just be careful of traffic!
The Finger Lakes are famous for their
pristine waters, fascinating communities and powerful natural
displays. The Town of Newfield is proud to be a part of this
tradition, and gladly extends a welcome to visitors to discover the
mystery of Central New York’s entrancing allure.
The Village of Odessa in Schuyler County was
incorporated in 1903 and features amazing scenic vistas as you head
northwest into Montour Falls and Watkins Glen.
Located in the center of New York State,
Onondaga County is home to the city of Syracuse. We are within 350
miles of all major cities in the Northeast, conveniently situated at
the intersection of Interstate Highways 81 and 90 (NYS Thruway).
Local Amtrak and Greyhound terminals are located in our new Regional
Transportation Center. Arriving by air brings you in to the newly
remodeled Hancock International Airport, while the New York State
Barge Canal System provides local connection by boat to the Great
Lakes and the St. Lawrence River.
The County of Onondaga is located in the
central New York region, has a land area of 793.5 square miles and
is approximately 35 miles in length and 30 miles in width. The
County is governed under a home rule charter, which provides for the
separation of the executive and legislative functions. This charter
was approved by voter referendum in 1961. The 2000 U.S. Census
showed a population of 458,336 for Onondaga County, which included a
population of 147,306 for the City of Syracuse. The City of Syracuse
is situated in the approximate center of the County and serves as
the focus for commercial and business activities.
From iron ore to The Ginna Nuclear Power
Plant, Ontario has come a long way. Close to the city of Rochester,
Ontario is growing by leaps and bounds. Heritage Square Museum
captures the essence of the community’s history.
Owego, small in size, big on charm - is a
historic village, located on the Susquehanna River in the heart of
New York State’s Southern Tier. Perhaps the greatest evidence of
Owego’s glory in days of old are the beautiful homes and buildings
that still exist. The concentration and pristine condition of
Owego’s historic buildings are especially impressive. World-famous
parliamentarian, General Henry Martyn Robert wrote his most
important work, "Robert’s Rules of Order, Revised in 1915" in Owego.
For a great view of the Tioga County Courthouse, built in 1872,
cross over the new Court Street Bridge.
You’ll want to shop the Historic Owego
Marketplace for more than 50 unique gift shops. Make sure to stop
for a bite at one-of-a-kind restaurants like the Jail House
Restaurant and the Cellar Restaurant - they’ll keep you coming back!
Free outdoor concerts and special festivals are held annually,
including the Annual Strawberry Festival, "Light Your Way to
Christmas," "Kids Night Out," "Indian Summerfest" and a downtown
Palmyra is known as "Queen of the Canaltown
Era". Canaltown Days is celebrated every September in this bustling
community. Noted for the four churches on the four corners, Palmyra
is home to the famous Alling Coverlet Museum, a collection of over
200 coverlets, the Phelps General Store (where time has stood
still), Palmyra Historic Museum and Print Shop. Mormon sites
including Hill Cumorah which is the most notable of many hills, or
drumlins, in New York State's Finger Lakes region. The hill figures
prominently in events that led to the organization of The Church of
Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
In A.D. 421, Moroni, the last survivor of a
great civilization that had inhabited the Americas since about 600
B.C., buried in this hill a set of gold plates on which was recorded
the history of his people. In 1827, Moroni returned as an angel and
delivered the plates to Joseph Smith, who translated them and
published them as the Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus
Each summer, the Hill Cumorah is the site of
a spectacular outdoor religious pageant. The free production,
America's Witness for Christ, features a cast of over 600 and
attracts audiences of up to 100,000 each year.
It all began in the early 1920's when a
small group of missionaries from New York City gathered for the
Cumorah Conference at the Joseph Smith Farm to celebrate Pioneer
Day, the day when Brigham Young first entered the Salt Lake Valley
in 1847. In July of 1934, the conference was moved from the Farm to
the Hill Cumorah.
Today the Pageant, with its incredible staging, lighting, special
effects and costuming is still carefully designed to keep its
message of Jesus Christ's love for us both simple and pure. The
opening processional of the entire costumed cast through the
audience is quite similar to the beginning of many of the great
Hill Cumorah is located four miles south of the village of Palmyra,
on Highway 21.
Grandin Building and the Joseph Smith Farm
are also part of Palmyra’s history. Victorian homes abound
throughout the village. Charming bed & breakfasts and unique
shopping will make your visit truly special.
The first frame dwelling at Penn Yan was
built in 1799. The village became the county seat in 1823, when
Yates county was created, and was incorporated in 1833.
The first settlers were chiefly followers of
Jemima Wilkinson (1753-1819), a religious enthusiast, born in
Cumberland Township, Providence County, Rhode Island, who asserted
that she had received a divine commission. Wilkinson preached in
Rhode Island, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Pennsylvania.
Obtaining a large tract (which was called Jerusalem in 1789) in the
present Yates county, she founded in 1788 the village of Hopeton on
the outlet of Keuka Lake about a mile from Seneca Lake. Many
followers settled there, and she herself lived there after 1790.
Some of her followers left her before 1800, and then the community
gradually broke up.
The name of the village is said to have been
contrived from the first syllables of " Pennsylvania " and "
Yankee," as most of the early settlers were Pennsylvanians and New
Many Amish and Mennonite families are recent
arrivals to the area. Beginning in 1974, many Mennonite families
moved to Yates County from Lancaster County, PA, seeking cheaper
farmland. The village was the western terminus of the former Crooked
Phelps, an attractive village on Rte. 96, is
the locale of The Country Lawyer, a famous book by E. Bellamy
Partridge. Phelps has a variety of businesses ranging from its own
home-based telephone company to small gift shops and a cement
manufacturer. Its quaint Main Street is a great strolling place,
where one grab an ice cream cone - if you can select from the 65
varieties that are available at the Old Mill - and step back and
take a more leisurely pace.
Phelps is renowned for its history of
growing cabbage and sauerkraut production. In fact, the annual
Sauerkraut Festival is held in August annually to commemorate this
heritage. The community’s heritage is also celebrated at the Phelps
Historical Society Museum, which features changing exhibits on the
community and the area. One slightly intriguing feature of this
museum is its two-story brick outhouse! The landscape of Phelps is
quaint and welcoming. As you visit this area, take note of the
cobblestone architecture, made possible as a result of the
construction of the Erie Canal. The Phelps Hotel, currently
operating as a restaurant, is a distinctive cornerstone of the
community, which stretches along Routes 96 to the Geneva Thruway
Exit. At the northernmost corner, you can find Cheerful Valley
Campground, located on the Canandaigua Outlet, a great place to
enjoy the rural characteristics of this town.
The earliest history we have of our area is
that it was part of the lands of the Seneca Indians, the western
most tribe of the mighty Iroquois nation. We have records that show
that the Marquis DeNonville crossed Lake Ontario from Montreal in
1687 with a force of two thousand French and Indian warriors to make
war on the Senecas. DeNonville landed at what is now Ellison Park on
July 10, and marched overland, following roughly the path of
Irondequoit Creek. That army camped at the Big Spring, a favorite
camping site of the Native Americans. DeNonville and his punitive
forces were successful in driving the Senecas from this region but
in so doing he created a powerful ally of the English against the
French. Whenever there was conflict between the two nations, the
Senecas sided with the British.
In 1788 Oliver Phelps and Nathaniel Gorham
of Connecticut settled with the state of Massachusetts for a title
to the land in western New York. On July 8, 1788, Phelps and Gorham
met with the Senecas and signed the Treaty of Buffalo Creek at
Geneseo in Livingston County at which the Indians gave up title to
all the land between the Genesee River on the west and Seneca Lake
on the east and from Lake Ontario south to the Pennsylvania line.
This comprised about two and one-half million acres, Simon and
Israel Stone, two cousins from Salem, New York, Washington County,
had been officers in the Revolutionary War. They had heard about
this fertile land in western New York state and arranged to purchase
13,296 acres of land, land for which they were to pay about 36 cents
an acre. The two men came to this area in the year 1789 and built
crude log cabins. Israel established his site at the Big Spring and
Simon's was just a short distance to the south. The two cousins then
went back to Salem and were able to persuade family members and
friends to join them in this new venture in the "west".
In 1792 the seven townships northeast of the
Genesee River were organized into the District of Northfield as part
of Ontario County. That same year, Simon built a grist mail on
Irondequoit Creek. He built a sawmill the following year and frame
houses soon appeared, giving the new community a more permanent
settlers were proud of this Northfield and wanted to be sure that it
grew and developed into a thriving community. A school house was
built in 1794 in the area where Mendon, Mendon Center, and Stone
This settlement of structures was called
Stonetown but later was known as The Milepost. The cost of this
school, the first in what is now all of Monroe County, was raised by
subscription with each family paying in proportion to the number of
children who would be attending. That cost was $ 1.00 per student.
On April 5, 1796 the District of Northfield
was organized as the Town of Northfield. A full set of town officers
were elected at that first town meeting held in what is now
Pittsford village. Captain Silas Nye was elected the first
supervisor and Dr. John Ray was chosen to be Town Clerk - a position
he held for the next sixteen years.
In 1808 the town was divided and the name
Northfield was changed to Boyle. In 1813 there were more divisions
and the name Smallwood was given to this area. In 1814 Smallwood was
divided and one part was called Henrietta and the remaining part was
named Pittsford. That name was chosen by Col. Caleb Hopkins, a
leading citizen who had been supervisor and a hero of the War of
1812. Hopkins named this town for his hometown of Pittsford,
A great event in the life of our community
was the opening of the Erie Canal in 1825. The village soon become a
busy shipping port with produce being sent to the eastern markets.
It also brought a heavy migration of settlers from New England and
land values rose rapidly. The village expanded and was incorporated
in 1827. Another important event which contributed to growth was the
coming of the Auburn and Rochester railroad in 1842.
Prior to the Civil War,
there had been stories of runaway slaves being hidden in homes and
cellars - all part of the Underground Railroad. Unfortunately, we
have very little documentation of this theory. We do know that
Samuel Crump, a merchant whose store was at the Four Corners, is
known to have received runaways into hiding in his barn and in turn,
took them in his wagons to the Port of Charlotte where they boarded
a boat for freedom in Canada.
There are also, rumors of underground
caverns and tunnels beneath the streets of Pittsford village. We
have the accounting of more than one person who says they have been
in those tunnels, but no one alive today is able to corroborate this
fact. If there are caverns and tunnels underground, there is no
evidence of any connection with Underground Railroad trafficking.
Pittsford was established as an agrarian
community by people of common stock who were willing to let
commercialism pass them by. Industry was not encouraged, although
there was at one time a thriving Pickle Factory in the community and
Pittsford Milling Company was a flourishing business through World
War II. The town today is primarily residential and serves as the
"bedroom community" for the city of Rochester which is only about
ten miles away. Pittsford is an area of beautiful homes and gardens,
trees and historical buildings. The school has an excellent
reputation as does the library. The municipal officers of both the
town and village have paid particular attention to parks and
recreational opportunities and have collaborated on many community
events. There are numerous restaurants, shops, boutiques and places
of worship. In a word, Pittsford is an ideal community in which to
live and is ideally located in beautiful upstate New York.
The Village of Byron was incorporated in
1837, and is situated on the Owasco Lake Outlet and former Erie
Canal, near the center of the Town of Mentz. The completion of the
Erie Canal, in 1825, gave a new impetus to the businesses of the
village, rapidly increased its population, and soon made it one of
the principal grain markets in Western New York.
The City of Rochester offers plenty of
experiences that will leave you relishing and remembering your
visit. Families love this city for the museums, shopping, cultural
advantages and sporting pleasures that it is home to. Whether you
choose to take in a concert at the Eastman School of Music, a play
at the Downstairs Cabaret Theatre or relive some childhood memories
at the Strong - National Museum of Play, you will not be
disappointed in the quality and quantity of cultural activities
found here. Be sure to enjoy one of the many events that celebrate
You’ll find a generous selection of
accommodations available in Rochester that will accommodate any
budget or occasion. Step out into the city and treat your taste buds
to a delightful experience at a host of restaurants from
neighborhood taverns to those serving fine ethnic cuisine. Discover
an exceptional place to indulge all your senses in Rochester!
The unique topography of the land makes this
town stand out. Its location near the Montezuma Wetlands makes the
town a perfect spot for the new Montezuma Audubon Center. There are
also many fishing and hunting opportunities within the area.
Agriculture is the main industry due to the rich, fertile muckland.
The first white settlers along the Seneca
River arrived in the area in the late 18th century. They were part
of Sullivan's March and had seen the potential the area held. Water
played an important part in the development of the area .Seneca
County, when erected March 29, 1804, originally covered an area
extending from the shore of Lake Ontario to just south of Ithaca; a
distance of about 63 miles north to south and 11 miles east to west.
It was divided into 6 towns: Junius, Fayette, Romulus, Ovid, Hector
By 1818 canal locks were built along the
Seneca River, allowing boat traffic to avoid the rapids. By 1828,
the Cayuga-Seneca Canal had been linked to the Erie Canal, making
transport of raw materials and finished goods easier and opening up
the much larger market for items manufactured locally.On March 26,
1829, the Town of Seneca Falls was organized when the existing Town
of Junius was divided in to four towns: Junius, Tyre, Waterloo and
Seneca Falls.Business and Industry was attracted to Seneca Falls by
the rapids along the Seneca River and potential waterpower they
implied. Tanneries, distilleries, mills, and factories of all types
sprung up along the river. Landowners along the river became very
successful by leasing water rights to a wide variety of industries.
The area originally known as Mynderse Mills
officially became the Village of Seneca Falls when it was
incorporated on April 22, 1831. Ansel Bascom was selected as the
first President of the Village (Mayor).As early as 1841, the
Rochester-Auburn railroad system opened the door to the world market
for goods manufactured in Seneca Falls.
Seneca Falls was also gaining a reputation
for social and religious reform. Abolition of Slavery and the
Underground Railroad, the Temperance movement and women's rights
were among issues supported by local residents.On July 19 and 20,
1848 the first Convention on Women's Rights was held at the Wesleyan
Chapel on Fall Street in Seneca Falls. Organized by Jane Hunt,
Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Mary Ann M'Clintock and others, it was the
birth of the Women's Rights Movement. Seneca Falls remained an
industrial village well into the 20th century as the home of Gould's
Pumps, Sylvania and Seneca Machine.
In recent years Tourism has become the major
industry in Seneca Falls. The Women's Rights National Historical
Park including the site of the first Women's Rights Convention and
the Elizabeth Cady Stanton House, the National Women's Hall of Fame,
the Seneca Falls Historical Society, the Seneca Museum of Waterways
and Industry and the Seneca Falls Heritage Area Visitors Center as
well as local wineries, the Finger Lakes and beautiful scenery of
the Central New York all attract visitors to the Village of Seneca
Falls. The Village has recently received attention as the likely
inspiration for the fictional village of Bedford Falls in Frank
Capra's holiday classic movie "It's A Wonderful Life."
Sodus Point is home to Sodus Bay, often
described as the "Crown Jewel of Lake Ontario". Fruit orchards and
cobblestone structures dominate the landscape and town. Sodus Point
is a resort community, featuring fine restaurants, marinas, beaches,
charter boat services, golf, and quaint shopping.
Syracuse is a city in Central New York, USA.
According to the 2000 census, the city population was 147,306, and
its metropolitan area had a population of 732,117. It is the county
seat of Onondaga County and the economic and educational hub of
Central New York, a region with over a million inhabitants. Syracuse
is also well provided with convention sites, with a downtown
convention complex and the Empire Expo Center directly west of the
city, which hosts the annual Great New York State Fair. Syracuse was
named after the original Syracuse, a city on the eastern coast of
The city has functioned as a major
crossroads over the last two centuries, first between the Erie Canal
and its branch canals, then of the railway network. Today, Syracuse
is located by the intersection of Interstates 90 and 81, and its
airport is the largest in the region. Syracuse is home to Syracuse
University, a major research university, as well as several smaller
colleges and professional schools.
The Town of Trumansburg charms visitors with
its waterfalls, antique shops, B&Bs, campgrounds, hiking trails,
fabulous restaurants and pubs. If local charms aren’t enough,
Trumansburg increases its appeal with some of the greatest tunes of
the Finger Lakes and a collection of fine wines and spirits that
could elevate any vacation.
Visit in July when Trumansburg hosts the
GrassRoots Festival of Music and Dance, a four-day music lover’s
paradise with 80 bands. The Festival offers a vast array of musical
genres coming together for a rolling repertoire of rockin’ "roots!"
Trumansburg is one of the Finger Lakes’ Wine
Country’s most diverse centers. Glenhaven Farm Winery offers eleven
acres of ripe blueberries as well as a variety of wines made from
native fruits. Savor the semi-sweet flavor of cherry wine, or the
winery’s specialty, blueberry wine. Frontenac Point Vineyard
overlooks Cayuga Lake and boasts a microclimate that is perfect for
growing a wide variety of grapes; the end result is a collection of
world-class flavors. If you’re looking for something with bite to
it, Bellwether Hard Cider allows its guests to enjoy a "new" old
beverage. With its sparkling gold appearance and tangy apple flavor,
the cider of Bellwether is a most delicious beverage worth
investigating in-between vineyard tours.
Whether you’re trailing the wines or just
relaxing in the valleys of the Finger Lakes, you’ll find yourself in
Trumansburg for the some of the best that Central New York can
Ulysses is a unique area located in Tompkins
County. It’s a vast country town just minutes away from the city of
Ithaca, Cornell University and Ithaca College. The area is
well-known for its spectacular beauty and is famous for its long
narrow lakes and the waterfall streams that feed them. Ulysses’
friendly community makes it a great locale for your summer vacation.
One of the town’s most popular attractions
is Taughannock Falls. These falls are the tallest in Northeast
America, plummeting from two stories higher than Niagara Falls at
215 feet. There are rim trails around the falls that allow visitors
to view the fabulous Taughannock cascade from above the falls or
below at the bottom of the gorge. The surrounding state park
overlooks Cayuga Lake and has a beach, marina, and boat launch
nearby. The park is also lined with multi-use paths for hiking and
cross-country skiing that wind past sledding slopes and natural
Ulysses is located right in the middle of
Finger Lakes Wine Country, so of course there are some wonderful
attractions nearby that offer a taste of New York’s winemaking
legacy. Frontenac Point Vineyard invites you to taste White Vinifera
and dry red wines or the ultimate Methode Champenois from its deck
overlooking Cayuga Lake. Try out the specialty fruit wine of
Glenhaven Farm and sample the more unique flavors the Finger Lakes
can offer. Although not a winery, the delicious blends from
Bellwether Hard Cider are sure to give your tongue a tasty snap.
A visit to Ulysses is an odyssey of the
spectacular beauty and distinct taste that is typical of the Finger
Lakes. Make your journey today and venture into something new!
Victor was originally purchased by Enos
Boughton as part of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase in 1788. In 1790,
members of the Boughton family, along with other settlers from New
England, began to inhabit the land named Boughtontown. By 1812, the
town was officially established through an act of the state
legislature and named in honor of Claudius Victor Boughton, who had
distinguished himself in the War of 1812.
With the establishment of the Auburn and
Rochester Railroad in 1840, Victor grew quickly in the years
following the Civil War. In 1910, it had a population of around
2,500 and offered schools, four churches, a municipal water supply
system, electric street lighting, a newspaper and a bank. Today,
Victor is one of the fastest growing communities in Ontario County.
The village continues its revitalization of
its downtown business area, while preserving the small town charm
that has attracted many residents. Victor is home to many specialty
shops and attractions, including the Ganondagan State Historic Site,
Victor Apple Farm, the Christmas Tree Farm and Valentown Museum.
Ganondagan is New York State’s only historic site dedicated to the
Native American history. Year-round events, walking trails, and
interpretive exhibits, including a life size Long House, provide
information about the history of this Seneca Indian village. Victor
is the retail center of Ontario County, as it hosts the county’s
largest mall, Eastview Mall. You can also relax with a trip to
Ontario County’s newest golf course, Ravenwood Golf Course or enjoy
the competition of equestrian sports at the Stuart Horse Trials,
held annually in July.
When you visit Watkins Glen and Schuyler
County, we'll treat you to ... World class wines, parks, motor
racing, lodging, and food... with the twist of being located in a
breathtakingly beautiful & scenic rural area.
Schuyler County is a place where waterfalls
chisel their way through the rolling hillsides, where vines and
orchards flourish, and where Seneca Lake stretches beyond the
horizon. It is a natural setting, ripe for discovery by the whole
family. Schuyler County is history (National Register of Historic
Places) - Underground Railroad, the rebirth of racing after World
War II, Catharine Montour & the Seneca Indians, the Sullivan
campaign, and more.
Schuyler County / Watkins Glen offers the best of both worlds ... we
are surrounded by numerous charming villages and towns ... but also
within a 30 minute drive of complementary locales in Corning,
Ithaca, Elmira, Geneva, and Penn Yan / Dundee.
Watkins Glen International offers a full
schedule of motorsports events, ranging from NASCAR to IndyCar to
Sportscar, to vintage motorsports. There's truly something for every
Take a tour in your own vehicle, with
"Thunder Road Tours." From May through October, The Glen offers you
the chance to drive three paced laps around the historic course,
beginning at noon each day for just $25. Tour dates are subject to
track availability and schedule. Motorcycles are prohibited
The town’s slogan states that Williamson is
the "core" of Wayne County. Spring brings a burst of apple blossoms,
which are celebrated at the annual Williamson Apple Blossom
Festival. Farther north on the shore of Lake Ontario is the hamlet
of Pultneyville, an old lake port and terminal on the Underground
Railroad. The entire area is rich in history and agriculture.
Port Bay dominates the northern border of
this town, where the visitor will find ample campgrounds, fishing
services, lodging and restaurants. Downtown Main Street provides an
old-fashioned shopping experience. At the center of town is the
famous statue known as Venus or Aphrodite, one of only eight across
the United States.